Stipend to Grez-sur-Loing

The Fellowship to Grez-sur-Loing was granted for the last time in 2016. 


Heikki Kaski – 2016 Fellowship to Grez-sur-Loing

Heikki Kaski has been granted the Hasselblad Foundation Fellowship to Grez-sur-Loing, consisting of 30 000 SEK and a 2 month residency at Hôtel Chevillon, south of Paris.


During the residency, Heikki Kaski will further develop the concept of a very promising artist book and focus on editing, image selection and text production. His poetic and multifaceted photographs move freely between different photographic genres, techniques and themes. In a unique way, he creates associative narratives about life, through everyday observations.


© Heikki Kaski

© Heikki Kaski


Heikki Kaski (b 1987, Espoo, Finland) has studied photography at the Valand Academy in Gothenburg, Sweden and Lahti University of Applied Sciences in Lahti, Finland. He had a solo exhibition at the Finnish Museum of Photography in Helsinki, 2015. The same year, he participated in the exhibition FOAM Talents, in Amsterdam and Paris.


The Hasselblad Foundation has awarded the stipend from 1994–2016.



Hôtel Chevillon is one of the landmarks of Nordic art history, having been one of the two hotels in Grez-sur-Loing to host many Nordic and Anglo-Saxon artists and writers who later became spearhead figures, including Bruno Liljefors, Carl Larsson, Karl Nordström, the Danish and Norwegian members of the Skagen Group, August Strindberg and Robert Louis Stevenson, to mention but a few. In the Hôtel, scrupulously restored, the Grez-sur-Loing Foundation, with its seat in Gothenburg, Sweden, now rents accommodations and studios to institutions which, in turn, make them available to artists, authors, photographers, and others, granting stipends enabling the recipients to spend time living and working there.


Previous recipients

2015 Beata Fransson, Stockholm

2014 Marthe Aune Eriksen, Norge

2013 Tonje Bøe Birkeland, Norge

2012 Cecilia Grönberg, Stockholm

2011 Martina Hoogland Ivanow, Stockholm

2010 Åsa Franck, Stockholm

2009 Ann Eringstam, Göteborg

2008 Marie Anderson, Malmö

2007 Sanna Sjöswärd, Stockholm

2006 Lina Jaros, Stockholm

2005 Joakim Eneroth, Stockholm

2004 Åsa Stjerna, Stockholm

2003 Ulf Lundin, Stockholm

2002 Monica Englund, Göteborg

2001 Julia Peirone, Stockholm

2000 Helena Blomkvist, Enskede

1999 Martin Palm, Malmö

1998 Nina Korhonen, Stockholm

1997 Susann Moritz, Farsta

1996 Lars Wallsten, Stockholm

1995 Anders Kristensson, Malmö

1994 Barbara Lindell, Stockholm