Previous Stipends

The Victor Fellowship was granted between 2004-2017 to encourage continuing artistic and professional development in Photography for Master students. The fellowship is not open for applications.


Previous recipients

Recipient 2017 – Elisabeth Molin


Elisabeth Molin received a six-month studio residency at the International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP), in Brooklyn, New York. Starting September 2017.


She will continue to develop her work with the project COMFORT 7/32/00. The projects is about the potential in urban images and is a unique contribution to the genre street photography.



Elisabeth Molin says: “COMFORT 7/32/00 is an intuitive exploration of the urban city as a space of intersection and interconnection, where signals and signs are in constant flux with one another. The images and my research relate to notions of entropy, organic and mechanical rhythms in the city, and the effect of architecture on the body. I’ll use the time in New York to photograph in the city and use the studio to experiment with the combination of images through installation and book format.”


Elisabeth Molin is a Danish photographer, educated at Chelsea College of Art (BA) and the Royal College of Art, and is now based in Copenhagen.



Espen Gleditsch – Victor Fellowship 2016

The Hasselblad Foundation is pleased to announce Espen Gleditsch as the recipient of the Victor Fellowship 2016.


Bau & Wohnung, page 34-35, Le Corbusier & Pierre Jeanneret © Espen Gleditsch

Bau & Wohnung, page 34-35, Le Corbusier & Pierre Jeanneret © Espen Gleditsch


Espen Gleditsch’s project White Lies is a work in progress, which he will be developing further during his residency at ISCP in New York. White Lies deals with whiteness through the mediating role of photography in the dissemination of art and architecture, and the production of art historical knowledge. One of the most influential exhibitions of functionalist architecture, the 1927 Weissenhofsiedlung in Stuttgart, was documented in black and white photographs, creating an image of functionalist buildings as having white facades. These portrayals have been formative for functionalist architecture to this day, even though a key feature on several of the houses was the use of bright colours. In 1932 the Museum of Modern Art in New York held an exhibition on modern architecture that proved to be seminal in conveying the idea of white modernism.


Espen Gleditsch will continue his research in the MoMA archives, which hold unique material related to the 1932 exhibition. The artist writes: “With the project I intend to place the desire to eliminate colour from the architectural discourse in a broader political context in the interwar period, a time characterized by its ideals of medical, racial, sexual, psychological, moral and visual hygiene.”


Espen Gleditsch graduated from the Oslo National Academy of Arts in 2015.


Members of the jury for the Victor Fellowship 2016 were Tine Colstrup, Curator at Louisiana Museum of Modern Art; Dragana Vujanovic, Chief Curator at the Hasselblad Foundation; Cecilia Sandblom, Photographer at the Hasselblad Foundation, and Louise Wolthers, Research Manager at the Hasselblad Foundation.




Previous recipients of the Victor Fellowships

2015 Mårten Lange

2014 Lotta Törnroth

2013 Savas Boyraz  & Malin Bernalt

2012 Tonje Bøe Birkeland & Linda Varoma

2011 David Molander & Joachim Fleinert

2010 Lovisa Ringborg & Nelli Palomäki

2009 Mattias Ericsson & Mårten Lange

2008 Preben Holst

2007 Anna Linderstam

2006 Daniel Andersson

2005 Hyun-Jin Kwak

2004 Pernilla Zetterman

In conjunction with the 40th anniversary of the Hasselblad Foundation in 2019, we are awarding two grants,  200,000SEK each, in order to highlight two areas of interest: the natural sciences and photography. Within photography, favour is given to artists and photographers who experiment with the digital and digitalisation, not merely on a technical level but also formally and conceptually.


Eva Gylfe and Tina Umer  – 2019 anniversary grants 

Eva Gylfe receives the grant in the area of communication of science and Tina Umer in digital photography.



Eva Gylfe and Tina Umer have been selected as the 2019 grant recipients.


Eva Gylfe is the grant recipient in the area of natural science communications. Eva Gylfe is a communicator and coordinator at the Bolin Centre for Climate Research at Stockholm University.


The jury’s motivation:
“With a high degree of expertise in the natural sciences, Eva Gylfe has communicated information about the environment and nature in a factual and inspiring fashion. Her ambition to develop digital information concerning the climate at the Bolin Centre for Climate Research is especially urgent today, as young people continue to demonstrate an increased engagement with climate issues.”


Tina Umer is the grant recipient in the area of digital photography. Tina Umer is a recent graduate of the Master’s program in photography at Valand Academy at Gothenburg University.


The jury’s motivation:

“Umer’s work fills the space, where the space is not only the walls but also floors and the entire room in a simultaneously established and innovative fashion. Established because this aesthetic has its roots in the 1920s when, among others, Russian constructivists conducted radical experiments in how to exhibit photographs as objects. Innovative, since modern photography has often been reduced to “print thinking,” that is, where photographic images have been installed in large or small frames and hung in rows on a wall. Innovative also in the fact that Umer attempts to analyze today’s digital and photographic reality as a social phenomenon.”

Tina Umer’s work provides a fresh glimpse of how photography can be aesthetically expanded in an exhibition context. She also poses important questions concerning ‘photographic thinking’ today. As a grant recipient and as a trailblazer with regard to the development of photography as a visual art, she is an excellent representative of the Hasselblad Foundation.”

The Fellowship to Grez-sur-Loing was granted between 1994–2016 to photographers to spend time living and working at Hôtel Chevillon, south of Paris.


© Heikki Kaski

2016 Grez-sur Loing stipend © Heikki Kaski



Previous recipients

2016 Heikki Kaski, Finland

2015 Beata Fransson, Stockholm

2014 Marthe Aune Eriksen, Norge

2013 Tonje Bøe Birkeland, Norge

2012 Cecilia Grönberg, Stockholm

2011 Martina Hoogland Ivanow, Stockholm

2010 Åsa Franck, Stockholm

2009 Ann Eringstam, Göteborg

2008 Marie Anderson, Malmö

2007 Sanna Sjöswärd, Stockholm

2006 Lina Jaros, Stockholm

2005 Joakim Eneroth, Stockholm

2004 Åsa Stjerna, Stockholm

2003 Ulf Lundin, Stockholm

2002 Monica Englund, Göteborg

2001 Julia Peirone, Stockholm

2000 Helena Blomkvist, Enskede

1999 Martin Palm, Malmö

1998 Nina Korhonen, Stockholm

1997 Susann Moritz, Farsta

1996 Lars Wallsten, Stockholm

1995 Anders Kristensson, Malmö

1994 Barbara Lindell, Stockholm