© Hasselblad Foundation
About cookies


Opening Hours
Hasselblad Center

Tuesday & Thursday 11-18 Wednesday 11-20, Friday-Sunday and holidays 11-17
Mondays closed

Hasselblad Foundation
office & library
Ekmansgatan 8
SE 41256 Gothenburg
+46 31 7782150

Hasselblad Center
exhibition hall
+46 31 7782150

Since 1994, the Hasselblad Foundation has awarded an annual stipend to a Swedish photographer, enabling him or her to work on a project in an international environment by spending September and October at Hôtel Chevillon in Grez-sur-Loing near Fontainebleau, France. From 2011 the stipend is also available to  photographers working and living in Scandinavia or by Norwegians, Danish and Swedish citizens residing abroad.

Hôtel Chevillon is one of the landmarks of Nordic art history, having been one of the two hotels in Grez-sur-Loing to host many Nordic and Anglo-Saxon artists and writers who later became spearhead figures, including Carl Larsson, Karl Nordström, Bruno Liljefors, the Danish and Norwegian members of the Skagen Group, August Strindberg and Robert Louis Stevenson, to mention but a few. In the Hôtel, scrupulously restored, the Grez-sur-Loing Foundation (www.grez-stiftelsen.se), with its seat in Göteborg, Sweden, now rents accommodations and studios to institutions which, in turn, make them available to artists, authors, photographers, and others, granting stipends enabling the recipients to spend time living and working there. Hôtel Chevillon is not a regular hotel since the guests live in self-catering accommodations. Hôtel Chevillon is notadapted to accommodate the disabled.

The stipend amounts to SEK 30,000 plus the rental cost of the accommodation. The recipient may bring a family member at no added charge during his or her stay at Hôtel Chevillon

Application for 2015

The Grez-sur-Loing stipend may only be applied for by photographers and other professionals within the field of photografy such as curators, theoreticians, critics or writers with Norwegian, Danish or Swedish citizenship, working and living in or outside of Scandinavia.

Application form

Information about the stipend/application


Application deadline April 15 2015


Marthe Aune Eriksen - 2014 Photography stipend to Grez-sur-Loing, France

Marthe Aune Eriksen has been awarded the Hasselblad Foundation’s 2-month artist-in-residency stipend at Hôtel Chevillon, a meeting place for Nordic artists and writers in Grez-sur-Loing, south of Paris, France. The stipend is worth SEK 30,000 and the Foundation will also pay rental costs for the hotel.

Marthe Aune Eriksen’s photographic work focuses on overlooked areas and cultural landscapes in the boundary between city and periphery. At Grez-sur-Loing, she will continue this work with a new series of photographs. More than conventional landscape photography or documentary work, Marthe Aune Eriksen’s photographs are strict compositions of lines, surfaces and fields, treating elements in the landscape as pure forms. Recurring subjects include places that rarely attract attention and her pictures are subdued and analytical. Marthe Aune Eriksen is a graduate of the Oslo National Academy of the Arts and has participated in a number of solo and group exhibitions in Norway and Sweden.

The purpose of this stipend is to offer a residency overseas for work on a photographic project while also providing an opportunity to build international contacts within photography and other artistic disciplines.

The residency will take place in September and October 2014.

Previous Recipients of the Grez-sur-Loing Stipend

2013 Tonje Bøe Birkeland, Bergen, Norway

2012 Cecilia Grönberg, Stockholm

2011 Martina Hoogland Ivanow, Stockholm

2010 Åsa Franck, Stockholm

2009 Ann Eringstam, Gothenburg

2008 Marie Anderson, Malmö

2007 Sanna Sjöswärd, Stockholm

2006 Lina Jaros, Stockholm

2005 Joakim Eneroth, Stockholm

2004 Åsa Stjerna, Stockholm

2003 Ulf Lundin, Stockholm

2002 Monica Englund, Göteborg

2001 Julia Peirone, Stockholm

2000 Helena Blomkvist, Enskede

1999 Martin Palm, Malmö

1998 Nina Korhonen, Stockholm

1997 Susann Moritz, Farsta

1996 Lars Wallsten, Stockholm

1995 Anders Kristensson, Malmö

1994 Barbara Lindell, Stockholm

About the stipend

How to apply

The 2014 recipient

Previous recipients